What is the Capital of New Mexico?

New Mexico has a long and interesting history, but it is one of the most recent states to join the Union.

It became a part of the United States of America in 1912.

State flag of New Mexico.

Before that time, it was ruled by the Spanish as the Viceroyalty of New Spain.

It had, of course, been previously inhabited by Native Americans for many thousands of years.

Pueblo peoples ruled over much of the region before the arrival of Europeans.

These people worshipped a god named Montezuma, and they believed that he had come to them from the Aztec culture that thrived in the region of modern-day Mexico.

The capital city of New Mexico is Santa Fe.

Its name means “Holy Faith” in Spanish.

However, the largest city — by population size — in New Mexico is Albuquerque.

Albuquerque hosts the International Balloon Fiesta, the largest gathering of hot-air balloons anywhere in the world.

Other major cities in New Mexico include Las Cruces and Rio Rancho.

This blog post is protected by copyright.

Please contact me if you would like permission to republish it in any form.

Last updated


Please login or register if you would like to leave a comment.